Wrath in a Classic Hymn Poll

7/29/08

UPDATE: For those who are coming here for a crossword answer, here is a suggestion for “wrath in a classic hymn.”

According to commentor (see comments below) Mushu Bengali “It’s Dies Irae (Days of Wrath).”

****************************************************************************

(Originally posted – November 17, 2007)

Over the past several days, WordPress records that several hundred page-hits to Nephos have come from one of over three dozen variations of the search term “wrath in a classic hymn.” This “phenomenon” piqued my curiousity. My curiosity inspired this poll:

Why do YOU think so many people are inquiring about “wrath in a classic hymn?”

A. It’s a class project of some sort.

B. I’m under some sort of government surveillance for the word “wrath?”

C. I’m under surveillance by Reformed Theology police?

D. All of the above.

E. Other (please elaborate).

Also, if you choose, share what first brought you to this blog. If you came looking for wrath in a classic hymn, welcome. Feel free to comment and check out the “classic hymn” tab below left under “categories.”

19 thoughts on “Wrath in a Classic Hymn Poll

  1. I think that I originally got to your blog because you commented on a blog that I also commented on.. don’t remember which on though.. might have been Steve’s or Gordon’s blog?

  2. I made my way to this blog from your brother’s blog, which I made it to his blog from Steve Sensenig’s blog, which I made it to his blog through David Black’s blog.

    As far as wrath in a classic hymn, I got no idea, which really should not be a surprise to anyone. :)

  3. Hey Cameron,

    I explored and found your blog thru Bro. Gordon’s . I can certainly say it was not , looking for wrath in a classic hymn !

    Do you suppose that the terrorist is using classic hyms to send messages ?

    Thanks for remembering my Mom in prayer ! Her colon blockage is releasing but her kidneys are still acting up ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  4. I can’t remember if it was your brothers blog or or a comment that you made on my blog that brought me here,

    But really it was a click of the mouse that did it ! ;)

    oh by the way hope you and family have a great Thanksgiving!

  5. Thanks, all. The fervor seems to have died down now, so I guess I’ll never know. Oh, well.

    It’s interesting to see how people get here. Thanks for responding.

  6. The reason so many hits on Wrath Hymm is the Los Angeles Times Crossword Puzzle for Nov 15th
    clue 57 Across is : Wrath, in a classic hymn

    Soooo….your solution was not so hard afterall.. Jerry in AZ

  7. Thanks, Jerry, for taking the time to enlighten me. A crossword never occurred to me! My suspicion of the government led me in a different direction. ;)

    And, thanks LA Times for inadvertantly sending the traffic my way.

  8. i came here looking up the definition of the word nephos…which is a long story in itself…have no clue why you are here but wtf here i am.

  9. Came up again in the Baltimore Sun on 7/29/08. It is four letters, but RAGE doesn’t fit. Mine may start with an “I.”

  10. Thanks for finally providing the answer! This is the third puzzle it has been in, and this is the first time anyone has provided the solution.

  11. It’s a crossword clue in the News and Observers (Raleigh) Sunday Aug 10th crossword. Just now got time to work on it! :)

Leave a Reply

