Enjoying the Simple Things

Well, I’ve been on vacation this past week and the best thing I can bring back from it is a reminder of the blessings of the “simple things”, especially here in the South. Here’s a summary of my blessings from vacation:

Enjoying muscadine cider and boiled peanuts.
Running through an early morning rainstorm (while watching carefully for alligators!).
Wading through the giant fountains at Water Front Park with my family.
Eating shrimp-and-grits in downtown Charleston, S.C.
Wading in the the surf with my two-year old son (his first visit to the ocean).
Wave-jumping with my oldest son at Hilton Head.
Listening to my wife’s eighty year old uncle as he reminisced about cutting cypress shingles from the swamp as a boy.
Visiting with family I haven’t seen in years.
Celebrating my fourteen year anniversary with my wife at Paula Deen’s in Savannah.
May not sound all that exciting, but the simple things are mighty fine to me.

Leave a Reply

