A Soldier of the Cross

christian-soldier-apollyon.jpg

In the front of my Bible I keep a brief reading that I heard a number of years ago.  I have often found it personally encouraging and edifying.  After reading it in a sermon recently, I have had several requests to post it. I don’t know where it originated and thus cannot credit it, but for those who requested (and those who didn’t) here is “Are You a Good Soldier?”

Here I Stand!  I Am a Soldier!

 I am a soldier in the army of God!  The Lord Jesus Christ is my commanding officer!  The Bible is my code of conduct! Faith, prayer, and the Word are my weapons of warfare!

I have been taught by the Holy Spirit, trained by experience, tried by adversity and tested by fire!

I am a volunteer in this army, and I am enlisted for eternity!

I will either retire from this army at the return of Christ or die in this army, but I will not get out, sell out, be talked out, or pushed out!

I am faithful, reliable, capable and dependable!  If my God needs me, I am there!  If He needs me to teach children in Sunday school, to work with youth, help adults, or just sit and learn; He can use me because I am there!  If He needs me in church Sunday morning, Sunday night, midweek, during revival or a special service, I am there!

I am there to preach, teach, sing, play, work, or worship!  God can use me, because I am there! I am a soldier, I am not a baby!

I don’t need to be pampered, petted, primed, pumped up, picked up, or pepped up!  I am a soldier! No one has to call me, remind me, write me, visit me, entice me, or lure me!  I am a soldier!  I am not a wimp!

I am in place – saluting my King, obeying His orders, praising His name, and building His kingdom! No one has to send me flowers, gifts, food, cards, candy, or give me handouts!

I don’t need to be cuddled, cradled, cared for, or catered to!  I am committed! I cannot have my feelings hurt bad enough to turn me around! I cannot be discouraged enough to turn me aside!

I cannot lose enough to cause me to quit!  When Jesus called me into this army, I had nothing!  If I end up with nothing, I will still break even!  I will win!  My God shall supply all my needs!

I am more than a conqueror!  I will always triumph!

I can do all things through Christ!  Devils cannot defeat me!  People cannot disillusion me!  Weather cannot weary me; sickness cannot stop me; battles cannot beat me!  Money cannot buy me! Governments cannot silence me! And hell cannot handle me!

I am a soldier!  Even death cannot destroy me, for when my Commander calls me from this battlefield, He will promote me to captain and then bring me back to rule this world with Him!

I am a soldier in God’s army.  I will never surrender to the enemy!

I will never turn back!

I’m a soldier, marching heavenward, claiming victory as I go!

Here I stand! Will you stand with me?

20 thoughts on “A Soldier of the Cross

  1. Jel, I think you misunderstood. When C is preaching, people are just getting up, milling around, and talking to one another without paying attention to him. So, he’s constantly asking them to sit down and be quiet 😉 hehe (just kidding)

  2. Morning Cameron,

    Them are good words and If most folks would cherish them we could get a lot more accomplished in the work God commanded us too ?

    Just be casual when those that tell you to shut up and sit down , and just tell them to go back to sleep ? Like Amy said in her post, some folks just make you want to “Pinch their heads off ” ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  3. jel,
    You’d be surprised! 😉

    Steve,
    Are you sure you haven’t visited in one of our services before? 😮

    Ron,
    Once I put ’em to sleep, they don’t wake up easily.

    Gordon,
    Help yourself. Just make sure Ron’s awake to hear it. 🙂

  4. Bro. Gordon,
    I know you can’t tell when I’m listening or not but you can rest assured I won’t tell nobody where it came from ?

    Cameron you can count me in , I’ll stand with you but I can’t speak for Steve .

    Jel can we count on you? We might get Daddy Cloud to help keep us all straight !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

Leave a Reply

