I Don’t Think I’m The Only One

Following in the steps of John Kennedy, Mitt Romney tried to assuage the alleged “fears” of evangelical Christians over his religion.  Romney Pledges to Serve No One Religion.  While listening to the pundits discuss this speech last evening I began to wonder if I was the only one who feels as I do.

They talked about the evangelicals who have a problem with Romney because he is Mormon.  These folks are apparently many and vocal.  They also talked about those who they described as “pragmatic.”  They might not like a Mormon, but they would vote for anyone who can beat Hillary. 

As I listened, I waited for them to describe a third group.  Those of us who don’t fit into either of these two convenient divisions.  My problem is not with Romney’s religion.  Neither am I overlooking my disagreement with him (or any other candidate) because I hate Hillary.

Personally, I neither totally like nor dislike any candidate.  On the Republican side, the only one I probably would not vote for is Guiliani.  My first preference would be Huckabee, but I could vote for most of the Republican candidates in a general election.  They all have their weaknesses and strengths but overall they represent my opinions, positions, and beliefs the most clearly.

My opinion was never described.  I dislike the fact that the impression was given of only two evangelical positions.  I could care less what religion Romney is, AND I will not sacrifice principle just to beat Hillary.  I may be the only one who feels this way, but I don’t think I am.

7 thoughts on “I Don’t Think I’m The Only One

  1. Guess there are at least two of us that would say this:

    “I could care less what religion Romney is, AND I will not sacrifice principle just to beat Hillary.”

    I linked to you and posted about this at my place.

  2. Three!

    That has been the Repub platform since they started campaigning, that they will sacrifice all to beat Hillary. I don’t despise Hillary either and I would not give you a nickel for the difference between her and Rudy; their only difference being dealing with Iraq (and potentially Iran).

    the only one I probably would not vote for is Guiliani. That is the real snafu, isn’t it? Giuliani is the Repub’s only “electable” candidate and thus far, though Huckabee is out front, the only one that really can beat Hillary.

    I think the most interesting ticket (though unlikely!) would be Huckabee and Obama, given that they are the ones who have been most vocal about their faith.

  3. As an australian I can offer a different perspective while remaining in total aggreement with:
    “I could care less what religion Romney is, AND I will not sacrifice principle just to beat Hillary.”

    MDM

  4. Count me as number 4, then. I don’t care what religion Romney is. I personally just can’t get past his flip-flopping. I won’t vote for Giuliani, either. I think nominating him would destroy the Republican party. I’ve even considered voting for Hillary to prevent Giuliani from ruining the prolife influence on the party.

  5. Tony,
    If Guiliani gets the nod, it will be very interesting to see the response of conservative voters.

    MDM,
    Thanks for sharing your perspective. I often wonder about how others view what seem so essential to we “ugly Americans.”

    Casey,
    Thanks for the visit and comments. I’m not sure I could vote for Hillary, although a non-vote (what I would consider with Guiliani) would be an indirect vote for her. I believe Guiliani might do as much as a Dem to undo pro-life advance over the past 20 years.

Leave a Reply

