A Nephos Sampler Platter

Breaking a blogfast is hard.  You can get used to neither reading (with a few exceptions) nor writing blogs. To be honest, it is the flavor of some blogs that helped cause the fast to start with.  Some serve ingredients I just can’t swallow.  Others have healthy ingredients, but are way to spicy.

As I gradually reintroduce myself to a diet of blogging, I have enjoyed the flavor of several offerings from familiar chefs as well as new tastings.  Here’s a sampling of what has recently interested my mental palate:

Ray Van Neste of Oversight of Souls shares an excerpt from Bob Kaughlin’s new book on worship music. I especially appreciated the admonitions about distraction and “singability” in worship music.

Doug Phillips at the appropriately-named Doug’s Blog reports that the Constitution Party has named Chuck Baldwin as their third-party candidate for President. I’m curious as to the impact this will have on the election. I can certainly understand the draw a candidate with his views would have to conservative voters, but a vote for a third party is essentially a vote for the second party. Time will tell. Would you vote for a third-party candidate that more accurately reflected your views?

For a thought-provoking post on the “Heart of the Gospel,” check out Steve’s thoughts at Theological Musings.  Steve writes,

“The gospel is not a weapon with which to threaten people. It’s not a guilt trip to make people feel awful about their lives in ignorance of the good news. It’s not a call for behavior modification. It’s not a sales pitch. It’s not a way to build our own human empires. It’s the good news of a loving Father with whom mankind had a relationship that was severed, which relationship has now been restored!”

And while this last one isn’t a blog, it’s certainly worth taking a look at. Check out the gorgeous photography at a link my Dad sent me, God’s Handywork. Be sure and view some of the galleries at this site. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

And of course, from my blogroll, there is something for a variety of tastes.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “A Nephos Sampler Platter

  1. Thanks for the link, Cameron. I appreciate it.

    To answer your political question above, I would (and have, in the past) vote for a 3rd-party candidate. This year, I may even vote by write-in. I’m pretty tired of my party telling me who to vote for, and feeling like I don’t fit into either of the two major parties anyway.

    I feel that it is much better to vote for the candidate that best represents my views, even if that candidate is not predicted to have any chance of winning. To vote for someone on the basis of not wanting my vote to be “a vote for the second party” is something I can no longer live with in my own conscience.

    Your mileage may vary. 😉

  2. jel,
    Glad you enjoyed it. They have some gorgeous shots.

    Steve,
    Thanks for your response. I think this election many Christian voters will be faced with this dillema. Maybe it’s good for us to have to face our consciences once in a while!

Leave a Reply

