Another Option

Libertarians Nominate Barr for President

Barr says, “”I’m a competitor and I’m in this to win. I do not view the role of the Libertarian Party to be a spoiler and I certainly have no intention of being a spoiler.”

I’m sorry.  I don’t know much about the guy, but he’s either lying, delusional, or willfully ignorant when he says that. I won’t speculate which, but I’m not sure I want a president that’s either. (OK, ok, I am aware of the historical irony of that statement.) 

Barr stands no chance of winning, and he’ll only pull candidates from one of the two main parties.  Until we have something better than a two-party system, that’s the cold hard fact. I’m supportive of third parties making a statement with their candidate, but let’s not delude ourselves into thinking our “democracy” is more than it is.

3 thoughts on “Another Option

  1. Unlike Perot, who had a chance of winning, candidates like this just make is possible for a candidate to win it all without getting over half the vote.. also will give people a chance for an anti-vote.. I just don’t like it.. but maybe I have been brainwasked 🙂

  2. I actually had the opportunity to meet Barr once when he was still in the Georgia GOP as a gubernatorial candidate. After hearing him speak alongside three or four of his opponents, I placed him at the bottom of the list for that office.

    I don’t think much of him as a presidential candidate either, and it is nearly impossible to consider his bid a serious one.

  3. I don’t have so much a problem with 3rd party candidates. I’m glad it gives people a chance to make a statement. What I have a problem with is the disingenuous statement. In the words of that great American theologian, Judge Judy, “Don’t pee on my leg and tell me it’s raining!”

    You have to wonder why the Libertarians would choose a “conservative” who’s only been in the party about three years. I’m not a conspiracy theorist, but what are the chances they chose him knowing that it will at the very least benefit Obama?

Leave a Reply

