Learning from the “Pagans”

One of my goals for the summer is to read The Iliad and The Odyssey. Though I have read adaptations, condensed versions, and various selections, I have never completed the originals (English that is). I am only about half way through the Iliad, so I will do well to finish it by summer’s end.

Obviously I have no frame of reference for comparison, but the version I am reading is excellent. It is Robert Fagle’s translation, and thus far I have found it very readable and enjoyable. I hope, over the next couple of weeks to post some of the thoughts sparked by reading this classic masterpiece.

I believe you can learn something from everything, so even a “pagan” like Homer can benefit me on the wisdom journey.

4 thoughts on “Learning from the “Pagans”

  1. I tryed to read “THE Odyssey” but couldn’t get though it! šŸ˜•

    I just got though reading “PERFECT”

    And now reading “WISDOM HUNTER”

    Do u ever read anything for fun?

  2. “The Iliad” is my “fun” reading. šŸ˜‰

    All my reading is fun, but I usually reserve history and fiction for my “recreational” reading. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

