“A Vote for Sarah Palin”

Here’s one lady’s explanation of who she’ll vote for in the upcoming election:

I will vote for Sarah Palin because I don’t need the Democratic platform’s belated affirmation of motherhood. Thanks, but I already know that motherhood is good, several times over. Moreover, the party’s rediscovery of motherhood seems rather cynical in the current news cycle, while Democratic-friendly bloggers and media types bash Palin about her daughter’s pregnancy and her own busy schedule while bringing up children. How can a real sympathy for motherhood come from the same people who wrote a platform that hardens the party’s addiction to a phony right to kill the unborn?

I will vote for Sarah Palin because she has guts. We’ve never met, but I suspect I know something about her life, and so do a great many other women. I know what it means to have a son with Down syndrome. I know what it means to talk a good line about religious faith and then be asked to prove it. I know what it means to have a daughter pregnant and unmarried.

In fact, while we’re on the subject, I also know what it means to have two grandchildren born out of wedlock, a son struggling with alcohol, two grandchildren with serious disabilities, putting myself through graduate school while simultaneously caring for a husband and children and teaching full time—and a whole lot more. This is the stuff of real human love; this is the raw material of family life. And those who think that Palin’s beliefs and family struggles are funny or worth jeering at, simply reveal the venality of their own hearts.

. . .

I will vote for Sarah Palin because she doesn’t come from Washington or New York or Chicago or anywhere else the political and media aristoi like to hang out. In fact, I especially like the idea that the state she governs actually produces something—like some of the oil that powers the hair dryers and klieg lights at MSNBC.

I will vote for Sarah Palin because Roe v. Wade is bad law, and it needs to fall. I don’t doubt the intelligence and character of men like Doug Kmiec, the younger Bob Casey, and others who sympathize with the Obama campaign. But I do doubt their judgment. At the end of the day, the Democratic party in 2008 has conceded nothing to pro-life Democrats. The fact that Sen. Obama listens respectfully to pro-lifers without calling them reactionary dunces does not constitute progress. Results and behavior are what matter. On both those counts, the party has again failed to show any real sensitivity to pro-life concerns. In that light, high profile Catholics who support Obama are simply rationalizing their surrender on Roe.

Finally, I will vote for Sarah Palin, not because I’ve left the Democratic party of my youth and young adulthood, but because that party has left me. In fact, it no longer exists. And no amount of elegant speaking, exciting choreography, and moral alibis will bring it back.

That’s the real tragedy of this election.

You can read the entire article here.
It’s worth reading in entirety.

18 thoughts on ““A Vote for Sarah Palin”

  1. Excellent article. I think the fact that the media and liberal blogs are targeting Palin so harshly is a good indication that they are really worried about her conservative values.

  2. I personally think that the Palin choice is a poor one. How is she to be the “Keeper of the home” that God commands her to be when she has such a difficult, time consuming job? I am having a very dificult time talking myself into voting against Biblical principles in order to keep a greter of two evils out of office.

  3. While I believe what the Bible says about the woman in the home, I must vote to keep the liberals from getting in. Not to vote because I don’t believe a woman should run is to give a vote to the other side of abortion loving, immorality loving, people who are against nearly everything the Bible stands for. While they speak of God out of one side of their mouth, their actions and belief’s say different. I have a choice to make, either I don’t vote because I don’t like all the Republicans are doing, or I vote to help keep out this other group.
    Daddy’O

  4. But, to the contary if I were voting for a leader of my local church and one was a liberal male and the other was a “Biblisist” female, should I vote for the female simply because she would be better than the liberal male?

    Should I compormise Biblical principles to keep greater evil from happening? Is it ever right to do wrong? I believe I have a responsibility to vote Biblically and to leave the results up to a Sovereign God.

  5. I would suggest that if your church were considering a liberal male and a female as a leader, that you might want to find a new church. 😉 (Just kidding, I know you were speaking hypothetically.)

    It could also be pointed out that there is a substantial difference between electing a president and a church leader. In addition, God did raise up female leaders over the nation of Israel from time to time.

    Is there a candidate in this election who does not have some unbiblical aspect of their campaign? I haven’t seen one yet.

  6. I agree that there are no candidates in this election that meet all the biblical standards for leadership. But, I do have the option of writing someones name in. Gordon Cloud for President!!! As long as you don’t select Cameron as your running mate you have my vote.

    Why is there such a difference in selecting a church leader and a governmental leader? I am not saying that governmental leaders should meet Pastoral standards, but should they not follow certain Biblical principles? Can I vote for someone who allows the murdering of babies for science, simply because his main competition is okay with the murdering of babies for personal convenience?

    Yes, God did raise up women in leadership. But, he also told us that women should be the keeper of their home. Can you honestly say that Gov. Palin will be able to be the keeper of her home and hold down such a time consuming job as VPOTUS?

  7. Cameron as a running mate? Are you kidding me?

    Seriously, I think this is truly a case where the phrase, “Vote your conscience,” comes into play. I would never presume to tell you how to vote.

    As far as Palin being a keeper at home, I do believe it is possible. There are many mothers who work and do an admirable job as a wife and mother at the same time. My wife is a fine example of this. I will admit, though, being VP is probably a bit more demanding than most jobs, but she seems to be up to the task.

  8. Upon being elected as the first Vice-President of the United States:

    “My country has in its wisdom contrived for me the most insignificant office that ever the invention of man contrived or his imagination conceived; and as I can do neither good nor evil, I must be borne away by others and meet the common fate.”

  9. I agree one needs to vote their conscience, but I believe we must vote Biblically.

    Can Gov. Palin be an adequate keeper of the home? I have strong doubts. VPOTUS is just such a taxing job that will require her to be out of the country for weeks at a time.

  10. Gov. Palin has stepped up to fill the void that has been left by principled men. Yes, we can vote for her in good conscience, because a conservative woman is better than a liberal man any day. Whether or not she is an adequate keeper of the home is between her and God. We aren’t going to have to answer for that, she is. I suspect that she would not be running if she felt she couldn’t.

  11. So Casey, based upon your reasoning, if a man was selected to be a VPOTUS candidate, but he he was openly having an affair, should we accept that and simply vote for him because he is not a liberal? Should we simply state that this mans adultery is between him and his Creator? Or should we carefully consider whether or not we should vote for someone who openly rejects Biblical Principles?

    Have we come to such a point in America where “conservatives” openly support a candidate who is blantly denying the principles that God has given? Do we really want such a candidate representing us?

  12. Well, rather than drag this out unnecessarily, I’ll go ahead and clarify my point. God has raised up women in the past, and he will continue to do so in the present and future. It is not a sin for a woman to take on a leadership position. It is not a sin for a woman to work outside the home. It is a sin for a woman to neglect her family (just as it is for a man), but my point is that you can’t know whether or not she is neglecting her family. You have absolutely no way of knowing that. So your analogy only works if you are all-knowing or it is a sin to be a woman.

    I’ll give you an example from Japan. There are probably 80% more women than men in the Church. Would you say that churches here should go without pastors until a male pastor comes along (if that ever happens), or should women serve as pastors, too, to fill the role that needs filling? A legalistic approach would be counterproductive and would result in fewer souls saved.

  13. Bro. Cloud,

    I am not equating a woman working outside of the home with adulerty for I do not believe a woman working outside the home is necessarily keeping her from being the keeper of the home. I do believe that God has given men and women certain responsibilities within marriage and their lives. A man is to protect, provide, guide, love, stay faithful, etc. for his wife. A woman is to love, submit, keep the home, stay faithful, etc. I personally would not view a woman forsaking her responsibility of keeping the home as a greater or lesser sin than a man forsaking his responsibility of staying faithful to his wife. Both are unbiblical. Both are sin.

    Whether or not Gov. Palin is forsaking her home or not, I can’t say for certain. I believe she is. I do not see how a woman can travel the world and do all the a VPOTUS needs to do and still be all she needs to be for her family.

    As far as women Pastor’s are concerned. Are you saying that it is right to wrong if the end result is right? God expressly forbids women from being in a leadership role over men when it comes to spiritual lessons. It my resonsibility to obey what God’s Word says. I leave the results up to Him.

  14. Chris,

    Again, I trust that Palin feels that she can fulfill her responsibilities as a mother while serving as VP. I am not in a position to argue with her assessment. Whether she is able to or not is between her and God (and her children). I also trust that as a godly woman, she would even resign after the fact if she finds that she cannot do both. I vote for her with a clean conscience and in good faith while also agreeing with you that the primary responsibility of a mother (or a father) is to take care of her (his) family.

    I suppose the issue of female pastors is a little off topic. I do not see the so-called proof texts as “expressly forbidding” women from being in leadership roles in the Church. I agree that male pastors are the ideal, but in less than ideal situations, sometimes we have to make do with what we have. I know female pastors in Japan who are being used greatly by God and who are reluctant to be in their positions (some in Baptist churches no less!), but they (and I) see it as unavoidable in the short-term.

    I encourage you to take a look at the following in-depth analysis by Glenn Miller:
    http://www.christian-thinktank.com/fem09.html

  15. Chris,

    I suspected that was your position, but there is a point behind my question. A wife’s responsibility to her family is not a subjective matter, but the manner of fulfilling it is. Much depends on the individual lady, her family, her husband, etc. An unrepentant, openly adulterous affair is not subjective.

    If Palin believes she can be VP without relinquishing her role, and her husband and family are happy with her about it, then the matter is between themselves and God.

    All,
    Great discussion. I’ll have little internet access over the next couple of days so I won’t be able to interact as much as usual. Feel free to carry on, just play nice! 😉

  16. Casey,

    I read the link that you presented and felt it was very poorly put forth. It is obvious (to me at least) that this individual came at this subject with the purpose of proving or justifying a specific position. I believe that his explanation of 1 Tim 2 was very, very poor. The best interpretation of a portion of Scripture is often the simplest.

    His explanation of the Pastoral Qualifaction passages was also very poor.

    Women should never fill the role of a Pastor. The need nor the results should not justify this sinful practice.

    Bro. Cloud,

    Yes, I ultimately agree that Gov. Palin and her husband will stand before God about this choice. But, I also do not see how anyone who has children, especially young children, could ever agree with Gov. Palin’s choice. I do believe that a woman has a subjective role within her family. It is to love their husbands, love their children, be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to ther own husbands. Could a woman as vice president fulfill all of these responsibilites? I do not see how I could say yes.

Leave a Reply

