You Pick the Candidate

Casey’s comment to my previous post has me thinking. I don’t think I’m alone in being seriously underwhelmed with our choices this year.

So, here are my questions:
Who would you like to see running for President? and why?

Qualifications:
1) Living
2) Qualified to run for president
3) Reasonable chance of winning a national election
4) Did not participate in the primaries of this election (Clinton, Guilliani, Huckabee, etc)

There’s no number limit, so if you have more than one feel free to share all.

10 thoughts on “You Pick the Candidate

  1. I would be interested in hearing more about where Retired General and former Secretary of State Colin Powell stands on the issues. I obviously couldn’t say that I would vote for him until I learned more, but according to your qualifications, namely #3, I’ll throw his name in the discussion.

  2. I’m going to break your rule. šŸ™‚ I think Fred Thompson would have gotten the nomination if he had gotten into the mix a little earlier. He could have united all Republicans. Unfortunately he entered too late when the party was already split and everyone had picked their favorite. Thompson would not have shied away from exposing the danger that Obama poses, either. He’s someone I could have supported wholeheartedly.

  3. I know that Georgia’s track record of governors running for president is a bit spotty, but Sonny Perdue has done a very good job in our state and I feel that he would do the same in the White House. He is conservative, has good common sense, and is an able negotiator.

    Of course, there is always Chuck Norris…

  4. These are good choices (except maybe Chuck Norris).

    Dave, I like Gen. Powell. How do you think he would deal with the “nastiness” of a political race? I have great respect for him and would hate to see him get down in the mud with an opponent. Like you, I would like to know more about his positions.

    Casey, what do you think was the deal with Thompson? I liked him, but he never seemed to give it 100% Now, if he had campaigned like he spoke at the National Convention . . .

    Also, Jindal would be a good candidate, but after the “Palin” response, I think there is wisdom in his waiting.

    Gordon, I don’t know much about Gov. Perdue. What I do know I like, but you’re right about those “Georgia governors.” Besides everytime I hear Perdue, I think chicken.

  5. The nitty gritty of the campaign just may have something to do with why Powell has never run for office. I have admired his service and integrity during his appointment, though.

  6. I honestly don’t know what was wrong with Thompson. Nevertheless, he was the only one who came out with specific plans and was familiar with just about every issue. McCain is familiar with issues like national security and pork barrel spending, but Thompson knew what he was talking about when it came to both domestic and foreign policy issues. If Thompson had debated Obama he really could have highlighted Obama’s lack of experience. I still get depressed when I try to figure out how McCain came away with the nomination.

  7. Dave, I feel the same about Powell’s service. Don’t agree with his endorsement of yesterday, but I still have great respect for his service to America.

    Casey, I am uncertain whether the multiplicity of candidates caused the splits among conservatives or were caused by it. Either way, it served to get McCain nominated.

  8. I was not completely shocked by the endorsement, a little disappointed, but not shocked. I did feel a little better that Gen. Powell said that he would not actively campaign for him, though, for whatever that is worth.

Leave a Reply

