The Ties That Bind . . . and Divide Us

This speaks for itself. Sadly it is too accurate when it comes to Christians.

The Heretic
I was walking in San Francisco along the Golden Gate Bridge when I saw a man about to jump off. I tried to dissuade him from committing suicide and told him simply that God loved him. A tear came to his eye.

I then asked him, “Are you a Christian, a Jew, a Hindu, or what?”

He said, “I’m a Christian.”

I said, “Me, too, small world. . .Protestant or Catholic?”

He said, “Protestant.”

I said, “Me, too, what denomination?”

He said, “Baptist.”

I said, “Me, too, Northern Baptist or Southern Baptist?”

He said, “Northern Baptist.”

I said, “Well, ME TOO, Northern Conservative Baptist or Northern Liberal Baptist?”

He said, “Northern Conservative Baptist.”

I said, “Well, that’s amazing! Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist or Northern Conservative Reformed Baptist?”

He said, “Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist.”

I said, “Remarkable! Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Great Lakes Region or Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Eastern Region?”

He said, “Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Great Lakes Region.”

I said, “A miracle! Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Great Lakes Region Council of 1879, or Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Great Lakes Region Council of 1912?”

He said, “Northern Conservative Fundamentalist Baptist Great Lakes Region Council of 1912.”

I said, “DIE HERETIC!’ and pushed him over the rail.

The Shaw Pocket Bible Handbook, Walter A. Elwell, Editor, (Harold Shaw Publ., Wheaton , IL; 1984), p. 349

9 thoughts on “The Ties That Bind . . . and Divide Us

  1. jel, I’m afraid that as long as Christians are people . . . there will be these things. Just remember what Paul said, “Walk in the Spirit!”

    kb, I’ve been shoved a few times myself. Help me be more cautious about pushing others over.

  2. Cameron,
    Someone wrote a great thought that shows our arrogance, and selfishness. Although I do not agree with all Baptist, and I know all don’t agree with me; we are certainly supposed to love one another. Baptist who have genuinely trusted Christ, and non-baptists who have trusted Christ are brothers and sisters in Christ, and it is sad to see the quarrelling.
    I think we can agree to disagree at times without being disagreeable. And truly still love and pray for one another.
    T.A.

  3. Pastor Tim,
    I have no issue with doctrinal distinctives. We are NOT going to agree on everything. Too many want to major on the minors, and separate from anyone who doesn’t agree 100%.

    Personally, I don’t agree 100% with myself, much less anybody else. 🙂

  4. I agree with you Cameron.. need to major on the majors! One of my favorite sayings is this one..

    In essentials, unity; in non-essentials, liberty; in all things, charity.

  5. I’ve been attending a non-denominational church for 4 years now, and it’s great. I love being able to fellowship with people that don’t share exactly the same ideas. It keeps you on your toes.

Leave a Reply

