Et tu, Brute?

sibeliusbrownbackYesterday, the Senate confirmed President Obama’s very pro-choice nominee for Secretary of Health and Human Services, Kathleen Sebelius.  Along with the expected Democratic vote there were several Republicans who voted for confirmation:

Bond (R-MO)

Brownback (R-KS)

Collins (R-ME)

Gregg (R-NH)

Lugar (R-IN)

Roberts (R-KS)

Snowe (R-ME)

Specter (R-PA)

Voinovich (R-OH)

Some of these do not surprise me – they are not social conservatives and never have been.  Personally, however, I am highly disappointed in Senator Sam Brownback.  I am pretty sure I know why he voted this way, but I’m still disappointed.  He was one Senator I had a modicum of respect for as being truly principled.

The sad thing is what his vote does.  It goes beyond confirming Sebelius – she would have won without his vote – it is the destruction of confidence.

What does this say about his record as pro-life?  Convenience or principle?  And what about future votes? What is he willing to sacrifice on the altar of expediency?

His sacrifice of principle for politics also casts a shadow over the Senators that did vote against this confirmation. Did they vote this way because they are sincerely against abortion or because it is politically expedient? I applaud their vote and want to give them the benefit of the doubt, but it becomes more and more difficult.

It is time for our elected officials to do more than pay lip-service in the fight against the evil of abortion.  Until they do, their conservative constituents would do well to stop sending them back to Washington. Until they do, they might want to shelve any aspirations for President.

11 thoughts on “Et tu, Brute?

  1. Pingback: Et tu, Brute?
  2. “sacrifice of principle for politics”

    ..that is so accurately descriptive Cameron.

    It is why I no longer am a single issue prolife voter.. I am just tired of being played by “pro-life” politicians.

    I will probably vote for Sam when he runs for Kansas governor next year.. but I won’t vote for him twice.

    Defeat for all career politician incumbents!!

  3. Sad, indeed. Unfortunately, even lip service is better than pro-choice activism. Do we all become cynics and give up or do we start looking into how we can hold these people accountable?

  4. Can we best hold them accountable with an anti-incumbent approach (Either legislative term-limits or voter-imposed term limits)? I’m not sure. I can’t think of any better way, but I’ll admit I have doubts about its effectiveness.

    Following Casey’s point, allowing the election of someone who is diametrically opposed to my entire worldview and belief system just to prove a point to a politician who disappoints me on one (or even a few) votes seems counterproductive (The phrase, “cutting off your nose to spite your face,” comes to mind).

    Also, will regularly having new faces there make any real difference? What’s to stop them from acting the same way? My state has a one-term limit on its governors, and to be honest, I’m not sure it makes any difference. Will the knowledge that they are going home after one or two terms take away the accountability of re-election (if such a thing actually exists)?

    Any answers to these questions? Am I wrong on this? Also, is there another alternative to hold them accountable?

    I’m torn between my historically-based optimism and my frustration-induced cynicism. I also believe there ARE some good people in Congress, and hate questioning their sincerity because of the actions of others.

  5. I honestly do not think that our founding fathers embraced the idea of career politicians who.. like the royalty of their homeland.. would be in power for most of their lives. Our governmental system has become a sick one filled with bureaucrats and power hungry people who will not leave office even when they are advanced in age.. the avg age in the senate is around 65.

    Term limits are not meant to send a message to leaders.. it is a way to change the fabric of government.. these limits do not work unless they apply to every level of government.. every legislator.. we must say no to politics as a career.

    “If we resort for a criterion to the different principles on which different forms of government are established, we may define a republic to be, or at least may bestow that name on, a government which derives all its powers directly or indirectly from the great body of the people, and is administered by persons holding their offices during pleasure for a limited period, or during good behavior.” -James Madison

    • Bob, I agree on the founders’ intent. My understanding is that they envisioned the citizen statesman who engaged in politics as a temporary public service.

      I would support term limits, but there are days when my overall cynicism (something I detest and struggle against) with our government drowns any hope of reform. I want to expect the best from people in general and our leaders in particular, but experience has proven me wrong too often.

      My only encouragement is that man’s sinfulness will never override God’s sovereignty.

  6. KB stole myh thunder on that last comment.

    I am for term limits. But it seems that the only time I am for them is when I am disgrunteled about a specific politician (which happens a lot).

    But for now, there just seems to be too many people who are not enforcing term limits with their votes because they are too lazy or because they vote for the incumbant because they have the nerve to disagree with me. (Can you believe that!!?)

    Oh well. I have no choice but to sit back and trust God. MAN that’s hard sometimes!

    • DK, good to see you back around. I can’t believe anyone could be so foolish as to disagree with you! 😀

      And you’re right. Leaving things up to God IS difficult at times.

Leave a Reply

