Why Should I Study the Bible? Reason #3: The Encouragement of Examples

Why should I study the Bible for myself?

Reason #3 – The Encouragement of Examples

“Knowing of whom you have learned them.”

One of my earliest memories is that of my Dad reading the Bible. He would be quietly meditating; thoughtfully examining a sermon typed on half-cut paper; furiously scribbling an illegible rough draft of some new thought.

I often wondered about those “half-page” sermons. How could he read that writing? More importantly, how on earth could such a small piece of paper produce an hour and a half sermon? Thank God, someone had the forethought to cut his paper in half. If he had a whole page of notes . . .

But he didn’t just open his Bible to study for sermons. It was those early morning quiet times, or those family devotions, or those times when he needed the Word to refresh his mind that left the deepest impression on my mind. It was evident that he was a student of the Bible.

It’s impossible to fully describe the impact this had on me as a child. More than requiring me to have personal devotions, more than instructing me in the Holy nature of God’s Word, more than hundreds of sermons on the value of Scripture, it was the demonstration of a passion for the Bible that continues to motivate me to study it for myself.

Paul’s command to “continue in the things which you have learned” (2 Tim. 3:14) is based on those who taught Timothy. For Timothy, this was his mother and grandmother. They were not Christians when they first instructed him, but they were obedient to God’s commands in Deuteronomy 6 “Teach them diligently to your children.” They obviously also remembered the first part of that command “these things shall be in YOUR heart.” They not only instructed, they modeled.

The examples which motivate us to study the Word are both personal and Biblical. For me, a personal example is my Dad. A Biblical example is Timothy. He had known the Scriptures “from a child” (v. 15), he followed carefully Paul’s doctrine (v. 10), yet he still “continued” in them. What an example of lifelong Bible study!

Who taught you? A pastor? A parent? A Sunday School teacher? Remember from whom you have learned it and let their example motivate you to love and study the Bible.

2 thoughts on “Why Should I Study the Bible? Reason #3: The Encouragement of Examples

Leave a Reply

