“I Love the Bible” . . . or do I?

A Passion For God’s Word

I’ve been studying Psalm 119 preparing for our mid-week Bible study. Don’t worry, it’s a summary study not verse-by-verse!

Throughout this Psalm I have been impressed with the heart-felt passion the psalmist has for the Scriptures:

“At midnight I will rise to give thanks to you because of your righteous judgments.” (v 62)

“The law of your mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver.” (v 72)

“O how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.” (v 97)

“My eyes prevented (are awake before) the night watches, that I might meditate in your word.” (v 148)

These are just a few of the statements the writer makes about his love for God’s commandments.

Because of my vocation, I spend a considerable amount of my time studying in and about the Bible. I have to admit, though, studying this writer’s passion makes mine seem tepid!

Got to, or Get to?

“Your testimonies also are my delight!” (v 24)

I love how his reading/studying/meditating is not from a legalistic sense of requirement, but from a genuine desire for God’s truth. He doesn’t set his alarm and begrudgingly drag himself out of bed for an early morning Bible study – he gets up in the middle of the night because that’s what he WANTS to do!

I may spend hours studying but that doesn’t mean I love it – it might just mean I feel obligated to.

For? or About?

Even if I do study from a sense of delight, the questions I’ve begun asking myself are, “Is there a difference between a passion ABOUT the Bible and a passion FOR the Bible?” and “Do I sometimes mistake the former for the latter?”

Do I simply enjoy the intellectual stimulation and study about Scripture? or do I delight in God’s truth itself?

What do you think? Is there a difference? Have you ever found yourself passionate about the Word, but not necessarily for it?

2 thoughts on ““I Love the Bible” . . . or do I?

Leave a Reply

