The Heart Healed and Changed by Mercy

William Cowper (pronounced Cooper) is probably best known for his hymn, “There is a Fountain Filled With Blood.” He co-wrote the “Olney Hymns” with John Newton, author of “Amazing Grace.” Here is one of those hymns, which shows the depth of spiritual understanding these men of God possessed.

Sin enslaved my many years,
And led me bound and blind;
Till at length a thousand fears
Came swarming o’er my mind.

“Where,” said I, in deep distress,
“Will these sinful pleasures end?
How shall I secure my peace,
And make the Lord my friend?”

Friends and ministers said much
The gospel to enforce;
But my blindness still was such,
I chose a legal course:

Much I fasted, watch’d and strove,
Scarce would shew my face abroad,
Fear’d almost to speak or move,
A stranger still to God.


Thus afraid to trust His grace,
Long time did I rebel;
Till despairing of my case,
Down at His feet I fell:


Then my stubborn heart He broke,
And subdued me to His sway;
By a simple word He spoke,
“Thy sins are done away.”

4 thoughts on “The Heart Healed and Changed by Mercy

  1. Very good. When we start school with my kids we do pledges, read scripture and sing a hymn. I was struck by the words from the hymn “When Heaven Came Down and Glory Filled My Soul” The song is packed with doctrine: “Born of the Spirit…”, “Justified fully…”, “a hope that will surely endure…” John W. Peterson is the Author. Good stuff. There are many more that we simply just sing with our lips because of repetitiveness, and we never truly hear, see, reflect, and other wise comprehend the depth with in these lovely melodies. RBS

Leave a Reply

