On Holy Days

After a rather strenuous holiday season, I have spent some time over the past couple of days recovering from contemplating the importance of holidays.

I know the word comes from “holy day,” and I also am aware that historically, some have opposed them. I suspect that this opposition was rooted more in the pagan influences related to some (Easter) and the over-indulgence associated with others (Christmas) than in the concept itself.

That being said, I think there is something important about having days to celebrate special events and people. God certainly established “holy days” of festival, remembrance and worship for the people of Israel. There is obviously something beneficial in the act of observance. Properly focused such celebration can be an act of worship.

There are many things that can be found to criticize in the modern observance of Christmas and other special days. Despite this, I hope that the significance of recognizing holy days in general and those related to the life of Christ in particular is not lost.

How about you? What is your favorite holiday, and what significance does it hold for you?

And oh yes, Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “On Holy Days

  1. Very good thoughts. I think Easter, and Christmas is a close second. Easter because we remember the resurrection of Christ; and Christmas because we remember He came down to us.

  2. This past season I think that Thanksgiving was the best with New Years Day coming in second. But frankly I am no longer a big fan of these sorts of days – holy or not. I once was and perhaps I will be once again.

Leave a Reply

