Be All You Can Be: Succeeding by Loving God

Have you ever dreamed of being better than you are? You listened to that singer, you watched that athlete, you tasted that meal and you said, “I wish I could do that!” In your imagination you were as good as they were.

I’ve often imagined dunking a basketball. I’ve watched the talented players in college games jump to unbelievable heights and slam the ball in the goal. In my mind’s eye, I can see myself doing the same thing. Now, at my age and physical condition, not to mention height to weight ratio, that’s just not going to happen. But it doesn’t stop me from dreaming. Someone summed it up by saying, “We’re all great in our dreams.”

via terren in Virginia @ flickr

Just because we may not reach our wildest dreams, doesn’t mean that we can’t be more than we are. The fact is that many of us fail to achieve the potential that lies within us. For various reasons, we are unable to “Be all we can be.” This is especially true in our relationship with God.

But when the Pharisees had heard that he had put the Sadducees to silence, they were gathered together. Then one of them, which was a lawyer, asked him a question, tempting him, and saying, Master, which is the great commandment in the law? Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment.

Matthew 22:34-39

Why are we here? Is there some reason for my existence? Some purpose for being on this planet? This is one of the great mysteries of life. Fortunately for us, the answer is found in the pages of the Bible.

It is God’s ultimate purpose for me to bring glory to Himself by being all that He intended me to be: Loving Him. I can only achieve my potential by obeying this “great” command. It is the ultimate achievement.

“Being all you can be” means glorifying God by loving Him with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. Anything else, no matter how applauded by the world, is not success. Nothing else is a greater success.

2 thoughts on “Be All You Can Be: Succeeding by Loving God

  1. Great thoughts brother.
    “Being all you can be” means glorifying God by loving Him with all your heart, soul, mind and strength.”
    Keep up the good writing.
    T.A.

Leave a Reply

