Psalm 31 (#1) – You’re Not Alone

It is clear from the early verses of this Psalm that David was facing a tumultuous time in his life. He goes on to speak of “my trouble,” “adversities,” grief,” and “reproach.” He was opposed by vicious people. They “slandered” him, took counsel against him, and even plotted to take his life.

David tells us, “I am a reproach among all my enemies, but especially among my neighbors. I am repulsive to my acquaintances. Those who see me outside flee from me. I am forgotten like a dead man, out of mind. I am like a broken vessel.”

Hardly what you would expect from David. The boy shepherd who defeated Goliath. The talented musician who wrote many treasured psalms. The righteous king who was a man after God’s own heart.

There is encouragement for us in the fact that even a man like David had hard times. He had those who hated him. He even had days when, in his words, he was a fear to his acquaintances. It is refreshing to be reminded that the “heroes” of the Bible were human. They were flesh and blood just like you and me, and they had trouble, disappointments and misery just like we do.

What is even more encouraging than the fact they have the same difficulties in life as I do, is that we turn to the same God. We are not alone!

Ever had nowhere else to turn but to God? He’s there for David, for me, and for you!

One thought on “Psalm 31 (#1) – You’re Not Alone

Leave a Reply

