6 Reasons Prayerlessness is a Sin

We all have good excuses for not praying. My greatest challenge is “busyness.” Filling my day with so many good things that I can omit one of the best. Is it a sin if I fail to pray?

1 Samuel 12.23

“God forbid that I should sin against the LORD in ceasing to pray for you.”

Prayerlessness is a sin against God, others, and myself. Here are six reasons why:

1. It displays sinful self-reliance

Jesus said, “Without me you can do nothing.” To live without prayer is to say He’s wrong.

2. It doubts the promises of God

There are many of God’s promises that linked with prayer. Prayerlessness questions those assurances.

praying-kneeling-man-sunset

3. It disregards the needs of others

We are instructed throughout Scripture to pray for others. Failing in intercession ignores this command.

4. It distances me in my relationship to God

Prayer is the communication that builds my relationship with Him. Neglecting prayer is neglecting that relationship.

5. It disobeys clear commands of Scripture

God said pray. When we don’t, we disobey.

6. It denies the sufficiency of God in all things

We sometimes sing “He’s all I need.” Then we live as if He is not. We do not seek Him as our deepest satisfaction. This may be the greatest tragedy of not praying. We miss out on the blessedness of communion and delight in our Heavenly Father.

God forbid that we should sin by ceasing to pray.

What is the biggest challenge you face to praying as you should? How have you dealt with it?

4 thoughts on “6 Reasons Prayerlessness is a Sin

  1. Cameron, Love this article. I sure need to be more prayerful. I would prefer to be more like Paul’s admonition, “Pray without ceasing”.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

