It’s Too Soon to Lose That New Year’s Resolution: Three Reasons to Keep Studying the Bible

The beginning of a new year is a popular time to make New Year’s Resolutions (or resolve not to make them). For Christians these resolutions often involve reading the Bible. It may be a “Read the Bible in a Year” plan, or simply committing to be more consistent in daily Bible study.

This indicates both the importance and challenge of this particular spiritual discipline. It doesn’t matter how long you have been a student of the Bible, these two aspects remain. It is invaluable yet difficult to be faithful in reading the Scriptures.

I’ve written previously of several motivations for Bible study. I’d like to add a few things that motivate me to continue:

  • How Little I Know

As with all fields of knowledge, the more you learn the more you realize you need to learn.  The more I learn about the truth of Scripture, the more I aware I become of the vastness of God’s truth. As I once heard it said, “I’m not more educated than others, just more aware of my ignorance.”

  • How Much I Forget

I don’t think this has any -everything to do with age, but I find that I must continually study simply to retain.  At times I feel I am forgetting more than I am learning. Even though that’s probably not so, there’s no doubt I do not always have recall of what I’ve learned.  Instead of being an excuse for lack of commitment, it motivates me to greater diligence in my study.

  • How Much I Have

Historically and geographically, few believers have had the access and ability to read a Bible. This thought  reminds me how privileged am and challenges me to invest more time in mine.

So, what about you?  Do you find consistency in this area a challenge?  What motivations/tools/plans have you found helpful in your Bible reading?

3 thoughts on “It’s Too Soon to Lose That New Year’s Resolution: Three Reasons to Keep Studying the Bible

Leave a Reply

