Curing the Cancer of the Soul

Bitterness is the cancer of the soul.

A great deal of time, effort, and money has been invested in searching for a cure from the cancer of the body.  The cure for the cancer of the soul is simple, yet just as expensive.  It is forgiveness.

“And be kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake has forgiven you.”

– Ephesians 4:32

You might say, “I just can’t forgive.  I am not willing to forgive.  It is not within me.”  Bitterness is the ultimate irony.  By it, we are allowing the person we claim to hate, to keep control over our life.   We are giving them power over us.

“Forgiveness is me giving up my right to hurt you for hurting me.”

– Anonymous

Two little words, “I forgive,” exercise extraordinary power.

Forgiveness does not absolve the offender of guilt, but it says to them, “I will no longer allow you or your behavior to control my life.  No more bondage to this disease.  I Am Free.”

When you say “I forgive,” it says to Satan: “I am no longer going to suffer because of the bitterness you planted in my heart.  I Am Free!”

When you forgive, it says to God, “I am no longer going to allow this sin of bitterness to hinder our relationship and keep me from enjoying the fully blessed life you have for me.  I AM FREE!”

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you.”

– Louis B. Smedes

Healing will come by experiencing forgiveness from God and extending forgiveness to others.

4 thoughts on “Curing the Cancer of the Soul

  1. Sometimes folks are not bitter at people but at life. Hard to know who to forgive when bitterness comes from death or illness. In times like that it is good to simply “let it go” – and perhaps forgiveness is one aspect of that principle?

Leave a Reply

