Courage To Make Love Known

Being loved freely frees us to love freely.

Our enthusiasm for a celebration like Valentine’s Day is a reminder that we were created to love and be loved. Even the disappointment of those without a sweetheart is evidence of our natural inclination to both express and experience love.

But fear kills love.  We are hesitant and inhibited in our love because we fear being rejected or taken advantage of. Love makes us vulnerable, and we fear that our love will not be reciprocated or that we will be hurt by those we love.

So fear strangles the love we could enjoy.

Yet John says, “Perfect love casts out fear.”  Being perfectly loved by God can free me from fear and allows me to love both God and others (obey the greatest two commandments) freely.

This courageous love strengthens my marriage, stabilizes my family, and solidifies my friendships. It even helps me obey Christ’s command to love my enemy (Matthew 5:44)

Let’s unpack this truth as it can be found in 1 John 4

“Being loved freely”

“The Father sent the Son to be the Savior of the world.  And we have known and believed the love that God has to us.  God is love.”    

{1 John 4:14-16}

“frees us”

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear.” 

{1 John 4:18}

“to love (God and others) freely”

“We love Him, because He first loved us.  If a man say, I love God, and hates his brother, he is a liar: for he that loves not his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen? and this commandment we have from Him, That he who loves God love his brother also.”     

{1 John 4:19-21}

Knowing that nothing can separate me from God’s love (Romans 8:35-39) frees me from the fear of being unloved or hurt because I know that nothing can separate me from God’s all-satisfying love. Being satisfied with His love frees me from the chains of undue relationship expectations. It allows me to freely love others without fear of my love not being returned. It releases me from the fear of being hurt, to the freedom of loving fearlessly and courageously.

Being loved freely frees me to love freely.

One thought on “Courage To Make Love Known

Leave a Reply

