“I Got You”

Stories of the greatest courage often come out of the greatest tragedies. Such is the story of Shannon Johnson, one of the victims in the San Bernardino shooting last week.

As the Washington Post reports, Shannon was sitting at the table with co-worker Denise Peraza. Moments later the two of them were huddled under that same table hiding themselves from the attackers. The 45 year-old Georgia native used his body as shield to protect the 27 year-old Peraza.

She recalls, “While I cannot recall every single second that played out that morning, I will always remember his left arm wrapped around me, holding me as close as possible next to him behind that chair. And amidst all the chaos, I’ll always remember him saying these three words, ‘I got you.'”

Shannon Johnson was one of the fourteen victims killed in the shooting, but because of his heroism, Denise Peraza survived. She stated, “I believe I am still here today because of this amazing man.”

shannon johnson

This is an inspiring story that reminds us that amidst the great evil of this world there is also great courage and compassion. Jesus said, “Greater love has no man than this – that he lay down his life for his friends.” This is truth that terror can never truly overcome.

It also reminds me that I too have a friend who gave His life for me. And when terror of any sort finds its way into my heart, I can feel His arm wrapped around me, holding me as closely as possible, saying, “I’ve got you.”
My peace and assurance in these days does not come from either the government or from guns. My peace is in God and nothing can separate me from His love.

“For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38, 39

11 thoughts on ““I Got You”

  1. Shannon Hilliard Johnson continued on his spiritual journey, a hero! Denise Peraza is going to name the first child after the hero, and it does not matter if the child is a boy or a girl due to the name Shannon, is androgynous. He is related to the American Revolution and the Confederate Veterans. Rest easy, dear soul. God bless.

  2. Shannon Hilliard Johnson came from the Deep South in the State of Georgia. Ironically, while the motto says, “Wisdom, Justice, Moderation,” his first name means wise in Gaelic.

  3. Respecting Shannon Hilliard Johnson’s wishes, his body was cremated and his cremains will be buried in an unknown date in the future. Happily, his descendant lives on his nephew, Robert Franklin Johnson, III. Johnson is of British-American origin.

  4. Shannon Hilliard Johnson is raised by his stepfather, Albert Pollard. Just like Charles Ennis raised Duane and David Griffis and Fred Siebott raised the Hamiltons like their own. Like Shannon’s father, Duana and David Griffis lost their father and the Hamiltons lost their father, Melvin Hamilton, all three fathers were in their 20’s. Crazy World!

  5. Shannon Hilliard Johnson is of British, Irish, German, Swiss, Dutch, Austrian, and possibly Native American ancestry. He is like a man on a horse saving others. Imagine, Robert Franklin Johnson is going to the godparent to Denise Peraza’s baby and Peraza is going to remember him for future generations. Well done, Shannon Hilliard Johnson, God bless.

  6. Clarification
    Shannon Hilliard Johnson is of British, Irish, German, Swiss, Dutch, Austrian, and possibly Native American ancestry. He is like a man on a horse saving others. Imagine, it will going to be a delightful event if possibly Robert Franklin Johnson is going to the godparent to Denise Peraza’s baby Shannon (the name is androgynous) and Peraza is going to remember him for future generations. Well done, Shannon Hilliard Johnson, God bless.

Leave a Reply

