The Blessing of Thankfulness

Thankful for Thankfulness

It is sometimes difficult to articulate my thankfulness to God – either because I am overwhelmed by the sheer number of things to give thanks for, or because I cannot see the good in the gifts I am currently receiving.

That’s when I need to remember, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” (James 1:17)

I can always thank God for
1. His grace (He gives gifts),
2. His goodness (they’re good and perfect), and
3. His glory (unchanging perfection).

So even when I can’t adequately express my thankfulness, I can simply give thanks that I ALWAYS have reason to be grateful.

And when it’s difficult to be grateful because my circumstances have changed, I can be thankful that His excellent nature doesn’t. ALL His gifts will result in His maximum glory and my ultimate good.

Leave a comment